Sign in with
Your question

Should I buy a new combo board/ram/cpu or an e8500

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
November 23, 2010 12:29:08 AM

Hello,

I'd like to bump up my gaming for another year and have an untapped asus p5n32 sli socket 775 running an intel 1.8ghz cpu.....will I see a decent speed upgrade or should i spend tripple the money and get a new combo?
a b à CPUs
November 23, 2010 12:40:17 AM

I have no experience with Intel, but If you decide to build, wait until Sandy Bridge and Bulldozer come out. At the very least they will potentially reduce the price on current architectures.
m
l
November 23, 2010 1:01:00 AM

Thanks for the reply. If those werent coming out, or I couldnt wait...what would you do?
m
l
Related resources
a c 81 à CPUs
November 23, 2010 1:20:55 AM

You have not mentioned your current video card setup.. Am E8500 will surely fetch you noticeable benefits over your current 1.8 GHz CPU and will stay handsome for a year more at the minimum.. Going for it or not depends on what price you are getting it for.. If you can get a quad core like the Q9550 for say another 50 odd bucks, then better to consider it over the 8500..
m
l
a b à CPUs
November 23, 2010 1:37:43 AM

If those weren't coming out, I would save up and buy the best hardware I could - It would do me for all of eternity :D 

Is this your board? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

What is the model number of your current CPU? Core count?

Core 2 Duos or Core 2 Quads are still very viable for gaming, especially if you are using the SLI on that board to full extent.