Sign in with
Your question

Best value 120gb SSD?

Last response: in Storage
December 9, 2012 1:52:26 AM

Hi, any recommendations for a 120gb SSD that has the best bang for buck?
Was looking at a Samsung 840
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Any other suggestions?

More about : 120gb ssd

December 9, 2012 1:57:24 AM

It has 5 stars, go for it. Samsung make good storage, whether they are HDDs or SSDs.
m
l
December 9, 2012 2:30:16 AM

storm slider said:
It has 5 stars, go for it. Samsung make good storage, whether they are HDDs or SSDs.

Anyidea what's the difference between a 840 and a 830?
m
l
Related resources
December 11, 2012 8:16:11 PM

I have been doing a lot of research on this recently, and though I am no expert, I believe i can provide something of a decent explanation on this one. I welcome any gentlemanly retorts:

The main difference, aside from any easily referenced read/write specs, is that the 830 series is MLC and the 840 (non-pro) is TLC.

TLC basically sacrifices (theoretically) some measure of longevity (relative to MLC and SLC), in order to provide a lower cost/GB level.

The easiest way to explain that (if you don't already know the difference) is TLC = X*3 , and MLC = X*2 , where X equals the initial capacity of the physical cells (which is what SLC is, it uses no multplier, and is therefore typically the most expensive of the 3 types). X costs what X costs to the manufacturer, and from there it is just what algorithm you want to use to create the effective capacity of the drive. The sacrifice is the more levels you add, the more wear it puts on the cells.