First build, some questions.....

spiralizer

Distinguished
Sep 2, 2010
Hey there everyone,

Let me get it out of the way and tell you i'm a noob at PC building.

I just started my first build. So far I have:

-AMD phenom ii x4 955 BE

-Asus M4A785TD-V EVO 785G RT Motherboard

-2 gb G.Skill DDR3 RAM

-OCZ 700 Watt Power Supply

-Lancool case w/3 fans

I have put that all together and checked for post. It powered up, but went to some screen about not having the proper boot drive or something like that. I assume it was because I have not CD or HDD hooked up.
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Now the questions.

First of all, I am broke right now and don't have enough $$$ to buy a new hard drive and CD drive yet. I was wondering if I could use my old CD and HDD out of my previous computer. I'm sure you could just pop in the CD drive, but is it recommended that I wipe my old HDD before installing it into my new PC? Should I even do it at all? I don't want to ruin anything, but i'm excited to mess around with the new one. I would be using my old HDD as my new primary (and only!) HDD. Is this ok to do?

Second, I don't know what to expect when turning the PC on for the first time, is there anything in particular a first time builder like myself should look for or do first thing? I don't know much about BIOS, but I don't think i'll have too much of a problem with it.

Third, my cpu's heatsink seemed difficult to snap into place, I felt like I used a lot of force to get it set. Is that normal? There seemed to be 2 different ways it would snap on and no directions to tell me if one way was better than the other.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

Solution
Reusing an old CD drive is fine and easy.