How to format SSD into a separate partition?

Daratum

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2010
Please excuse my ignorance but I'm still relatively new to the world of using multiple HD's.

I just recently purchased a SSD and moved everything from my first HD to it, alas its almost full so I just purchased a second to help share the load and I was wondering how I'd go about installing it and formatting it to a separate partition, same with my first HD seeing as I'd rather not waste it, it could be used to hold all my videos and pictures.

Oh and I'm using Windows 7 x64 bit.

Again my apologies for bringing up an issue that's probably easily fixed.

Also someone mentioned something about RAID? Not sure what that is truth be told.

Solution
When it comes to set-up partitions on an SSD it is No differet than a HDD.
You say your first one is almost full, you do know that you must leave some of the drive free. Initially it was stated that 10-> 15 % of the drive should be left free. Latest I've seen now recommends that 20->25% of an SSD used be left free.
Ref: http://www.anandtech.com/show/6489/playing-with-op

Not sure3 what you are doing, nor what sizes of SSD you are working with.
You can set the partition size during windows 7 installation. Just select custom install. On page showing HDD you can opt to set the size for the OS. The remainder of the disk you can either partition it, or wait until after Windows is installed and use windows disk manager to...
When it comes to set-up partitions on an SSD it is No differet than a HDD.
You say your first one is almost full, you do know that you must leave some of the drive free. Initially it was stated that 10-> 15 % of the drive should be left free. Latest I've seen now recommends that 20->25% of an SSD used be left free.
Ref: http://www.anandtech.com/show/6489/playing-with-op

Not sure3 what you are doing, nor what sizes of SSD you are working with.