Migrating data from HDD to new SSD

Tags:
  • SSD
  • Hard Drives
  • Storage
Last response: in Storage
December 12, 2012 1:43:42 PM

Hi all!

I recently bought a new 180GB Intel 330 so that I could put Windows 7 Ultimate on it for speedy boot times as well as my most utilized applications (Steam, games, Chrome, etc,). My HDD is a 1TB Seagate Barracuda which contains about 500GB of data. I've already installed Windows 7 Ultimate on my SSD but I'm a little confused on exactly how to migrate data to my SSD. I've downloaded the Intel Data Migration Software which is made by Acronis but it seems that it simply wants to migrate 100% of the data on my HDD to my SSD (which would be impossible, of course, due to the storage differences between the two drives!).

I'm wondering if anyone could provide step by step instructions on how to port/migrate selected data only, and not the whole damn HDD!

Lastly, because I'm a noob at this kind of stuff, I'm not sure if I plugged my SSD into the correct SATA port. I remember seeing online that I shouldn't connect it into the Marvel port on the mobo. Went through my mobo's owner's manual and it didn't really say much about the topic. My mobo is the ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3.

I think that is all.

I apologize if I'm missing any info!

Jeff

More about : migrating data hdd ssd

a b G Storage
December 12, 2012 2:04:27 PM

If the SSD is working then it's plugged in OK. Migration is simple copy & paste operation. Highlight what you want to move (folder or file). Press Ctrl-C to copy to the clipboard. Highlight the destination folder and press Ctrl-V. If it's a large volume a progress bar will appear. That's it.
m
l
a c 164 G Storage
December 12, 2012 2:04:55 PM

1) You should connect the SSD to SATAIII_0/1 ports #13/#14 (Intel, manaul page13).

2) For steam game you can move them https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=741...