Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Cancelling SRT and Installing a new OS

Last response: in Storage
December 12, 2012 2:01:17 PM

Hi there everybody....
First of all i'm new to this magnificent site and I've really learned a lot from it...so thank you all
Second.....I've bought anew SSD (OCZ Vertex 4 128 GB) and since i was new to ssds' i searched the net for a way to install OS onto it and activate Intel SRT at the same time....but then i learned that i rally don't need intel SRT with a large space SSD.....So i want to cancel the cashing and reurn the 128gb of the SSD and then install OS on it So I can take the advantage of all the Space of the SSD.... and also i want to know the ACHI...RAID.....stuff
thank alot in advance.....
December 12, 2012 9:18:54 PM

Can anyone Help me!!??......

Best solution

a b G Storage
December 12, 2012 10:03:52 PM

with a 128GB ssd there is no need to use SRT. definitely install the os on the ssd.

plug your ssd in the first sata port. sata3 if you have it.

in the bios set sata to ACHI.

download parted magic and do a secure erase on the drive if you want to return it to how it was when it was new. you can skip this if you want.

then just reinstall windows on the ssd. if you are unsure about what drive you want to install windows on just unplug all hard drives except the sdd. after windows is installed plug the other hdd's back in.

Related resources
December 13, 2012 1:44:36 AM

Best answer selected by totta_fadil.
December 13, 2012 1:47:47 AM

jonjonjon said:
with a 128GB ssd there is no need to use SRT. definitely install the os on the ssd.

plug your ssd in the first sata port. sata3 if you have it.

in the bios set sata to ACHI.

download parted magic and do a secure erase on the drive if you want to return it to how it was when it was new. you can skip this if you want.