Palit gtx 460 1 gb sonic PLATINUM?

jdebarde

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2010
Does anyone understand the difference between the palit gtx 1gb sonic PLATINUM versus just the sonic. I think the platinum version comes overclocked, but as a total noob I don't completely understand what it would mean if I were to get just the sonic version. Could I overclock the sonic to achieve speeds somewhere near the sonic platinum?

Solution
Essentially... the sonic is overclocked 10% vs stock speeds... and the sonic platinum is overclocked 20%. I'd say being a self-proclaimed total noob... just spend hte extra $20 on the sonic platinum ($250 vs sonic $230) it's worth it and then you dont have to stress yourself out .... plug it in and start playing starcraft on ULTRA

lowriderflow

Distinguished
Essentially... the sonic is overclocked 10% vs stock speeds... and the sonic platinum is overclocked 20%. I'd say being a self-proclaimed total noob... just spend hte extra $20 on the sonic platinum ($250 vs sonic $230) it's worth it and then you dont have to stress yourself out .... plug it in and start playing starcraft on ULTRA

Solution

jdebarde

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2010
Well I happen to have an awesome deal coming to me for the regular sonic and learning how to oc would be fun I think. So I'll probably go with the sonic. I should be able to play sc on ultra just as well as with the platinum :)

Any GTX 460 should be more than enough for SC2. Game benchmarks I've seen show it can play on ATI 5750's (not to mention ATI 5770). So a GTX 460 should play it with maxed out settings. :)

Usually, the 10% OC on a graphics card doesn't equal a massive performance boost to begin with. And a 10% OC should be fairly easy to reach if you know how to do it.

Timop

Distinguished

Well, The CPU plays a big part also.

You can barely get 40fps with a Q6600 @stock speeds with a GTX480 IIRC.

D

Deleted member 217926