Looking for help/info for my first self build: HTPC + gaming

G

hi all,

ok...this will be my first ground up home-build. I have swapped GFX cards and RAM sticks before, but that is it. I have a lot of questions, some i'm sure get asked a lot and some more specific. I'm not a hardware nut, but I am a professional programmer, so while I know much about computers and how they work, I'm sure some new tech has sneaked under my radar. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Lots of things are floating around in my head, so I know this is going to be a long post, here goes...

I have been strictly a laptop user for the last 7 years. My last desktop was an Alienware Area-51, the original...when Alienware was a small company in Florida back in 2000. It Is currently collecting dust in my closet just as it has for the last 7 years... I don't know how much mobos have changed since then, but I do know the cpu in the Area-51 paperweight I own is a ~3.2ghz P4 w/HT. The GFX card is an AGP card, no PCI or PCI-e slots on the mobo. I am not a fan of many current cases on the market except the new Dell/Alienware's(not an option, the config i want is over $6000 from them) and the Thermaltake Level-10(awesome, but expensive for just a case).
1. I'm thinking about gutting the A-51 and using the case, is that an option without modding it? I'm not sure if current mobos and PCI-e card sizes are compatible....anyone know?