New Homebuilder Needing Some Advice

Xardas2012

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2010
Well, I finally want to get back into the PC gaming world and upgrade from my Dell Dimension 4600. I've never built a computer before, but I've had average experience with upgrading the 4600. I've been reading up on building a computer from scratch over the past several years on and off and I'm looking for a computer that will play all of the latest games and those that will come out in at least the next 2-3 years if not more.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I'm in no immediate hurry. If all the prices on these things slash in half within a couple of months, I'll gladly wait. I wouldn't mind getting it before Christmas though.

BUDGET RANGE: 1000-1200 Before / After Rebates (prefer to stay closer to the 1000 side).

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, Internet, Word Processing.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I could use advice for a keyboard and mouse since mine are getting pretty old. I don't need a monitor though. I'd like to be able to hook the system up to my Sony Bravia 32" if that's at all possible. If not, then I'll take recommendations for a monitor that will fit within my budget.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I'm open to whatever is cheapest. I live close to a Micro Center and Newegg is basically where I've been looking for everything. Tigerdirect doesn't seem to have a few of the parts I was looking for and they don't seem any cheaper.

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: United States

PARTS PREFERENCES: I prefer Intel chipsets and Nvidia GPUs. As for everything else, I don't care about the brand name as long as there's quality in the part (meaning I'd like cheap generic brands that work just as well as their major competitors lol)

OVERCLOCKING: No

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Yes (might not get multiple GPU's at the moment, but I would like the system to be able to run them for future upgrades).

MONITOR RESOLUTION: I want to hook up the system to my Sony Bravia 32" LCD/HDTV/720p/1080p. 1366x768