[Advice Please]Budget Gaming Rig

jthoov

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2009
Heyy there (I know that there is a budget build thread where people post all there builds for under 1000, which is what I was looking for but most of those prices are in American and on an American site, and it's difficult for me to find all those components and still get it under $1000 Canadian dollars after tax and shipping from NEWEGG.)

The following build I have is from a local computer franchise so I can buy it from a store and pay in cash to avoid tax.

I sold my computer recently in order to pay off some past debt in order to qualify for a new student loan. I'm getting more money than I expected and am going to build a new computer.

Of course, I'm a student and I am trying to keep it as cheap as possible while still being better than my last computer.

This is what I have so far. (I chose parts on a website and took a screen shot)

Untitled-4.png

In case the image is too small to see...

Intel Core i5 760
NZXT Computer Case
Corsair HX650Watt PSU
500GB Western Digital Caviar Green HD
Corsair XMS3 Dominator 4GB DDR3 1333MHz RAM
Asus P7H55-M Pro Motherboard
PowerColor ATI HD5850 Videocard
Samsung DVD Drive
Thermaltake SpinQ CPU Cooler

The total before tax in Canadian dollars is $1050

I would appreciate any feedback on the items I've chosen. Perhaps you know something I don't like whether something got really bad reviews... or a way to make my system CHEAPER but still able to game fairly well.

I'm kinda on the edge on my motherboard since they all look the same to me. Also, I've never heard of the company of my video card but I chose it because they were the cheapest by like 20-30 dollars. (Which is a big deal for me. I am trying to save as much as possible)

Also.... I'm not sure why the Core i5 660 is more expensive than the 750. The 750 has more cores, doesn't that help more?

Obviously, I'm a bit lost and need help.

Thanks a lot guys!!