Sign in with
Your question
Closed

On a budget: P6100 / P6200 vs. i3 / i5 / i7

Last response: in CPUs
November 30, 2010 2:38:33 AM

Hi -

Any reason I could not upgrade a P6100 CPU-equipped laptop with an i5 580M CPU? These appear to be pin, thermal, FSB, and voltage compatible. It seems unlikely that the multiplier would pose a problem.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Pentium_micr...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Core_i5_micr...

Background: I am a small business owner and need to order about 10-12 laptops, refreshing the T41p lenovos we are currently using. I am interested in in the HP G62t laptop or equivalent. I would like the least expensive "current platform" laptops I can get. A P6100 is about 400% the speed of a Pentium M 1.7GHz and appears to use the same platform as the latest i3 and i5 cpus. an i5-580M or i7-620M or i7 640M all seem like logical choices, nearly doubling the speed, but would add $250-$300 to my system cost today, or $20-$30 in about 3 years.

Advice appreciated.

More about : budget p6100 p6200

November 30, 2010 2:49:53 AM

As you probably already have considered, it depends on what you plan to use those laptops for. If for business applications like MS Office, internet, e-mail, and web based apps, a dual core Pentium is enough processor. If for video editing and engineering graphics then get the core i3 or i5. There is not a real fast difference that I have seen between these two classes of processors in "real-world" use. The core i3 and i5 may be more energy efficient and use RAM better than the older ones.
Score
November 30, 2010 1:47:08 PM

Hi - thanks for your thoughts. My question about p6100 vs i3 is not "which is better", but rather are these fully interchangeable CPUs within most (if not all) implementations, such as in the G62t HP laptop?