Your question

First PC Build

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
September 8, 2010 5:07:10 PM

Well, this is my first build, and was hoping for some feedback. I am looking for a fast machine, that will run photoshop easily and breeze through games. I also was shooting for expandability and upgradability. Here is what I am thinking of putting together.
Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
CPU:i7 950 3.06 GHz This one i'm questioning
GPU: Nvidia GTX 480 not SLI (YET)
HD: WD caviar black 1TB
wireless card, dvd burner,
PSU: Corsair modular 750
RAM: COrsair Dominator 1600/ 6gb

I don't plan on OC right away, may never do it if it is fast enough, but would like the option in future if needed. Any ideas? Right now I price out the parts around 2K including a case. Still need to buy Windows 7 though.

Other things I've considered is SSD, or RAID

Thanks!

More about : build

a b B Homebuilt system
September 8, 2010 5:16:39 PM

Alright, well if you want future upgradability, you need an AMD system. Both current intel boards will be replaced next year.

If you want pure gaming, then you need to spend a higher percentage of it spent on graphics stuff. Really depends on what you really want out of it.
m
l
September 8, 2010 6:26:01 PM

If you are referring to the bloomfield processors, I believe this board is compatible. Is there another processor I should know about? Also, I didn't know if I really need the 1600 mhz ram, or if 1300 is significantly slower, etc. As far as more graphics stuff, where you thinking maybe SLI 460s instead?

Thanks for your help btw. I know everybody asks the same questions all the time on these forums.
m
l
September 8, 2010 7:09:13 PM

Hes refering to the sandy bridge processers which will use a different socket so no more new processors for that motherboard. You wont notice a difference between 1600 and 1333.
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
September 9, 2010 1:26:39 AM