I7 980x vs Sandy Bridge?

Status
Not open for further replies.

woody_61

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2010
This may have been asked but im trying to make sure im reading everything right as iv been really close to building a new machine the last few days before I found out about the sandy bridge cpus coming up.

Iv read the Anandteck article. So what im gathering is that the i7 2600k will be better then a 980x and will be about 1/3 the price? (assuming that price point iv seen mentioned is true.)

Im sorry if some of these are stupid questions my brain is kinda burnt after reading tons of forums and articles the last few days trying to decide what to put into a new machine. If it helps it is a gaming machine and I was ok with the price of the 980x as long as it was the top processor. This is my first attempt at making a monster/top/near top of the line machine.

So I guess the TLDR version is with what we know know will there be a sandy bridge process that closely rivals the 980x at launch (first part of jan?) of the new sandy bridge processors?

Thanks for reading!

Solution
As of now, a hexa-core processor will not really give you a benefit over high-end quads (especially price per performance wise) even with powerful GPUs like the GTX 580 installed; since games arn't heavily threaded enough to make use of the 6 cores...

But if you do want your system to be more future-proof then I'd suggest getting the i7 970 which is still a 6 core processor, but with a lower price tag, and you could overclock that to get very close, if not the same performance to the i7 980X at equal clock speeds.

woody_61

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2010
Thank you for the reply!

Which CPU would you recommend? I figured the 980 would give me the longer use before it needed to be replaced to keep games at or near max graphics. I was planning on buying a gtx 580, and possibly SLI'ing them. I thought i read that at that point it was the cpu bottlenecking performance.