fishinman111

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2011
I just bought an AZZA HURRICAN 2000 Case and put this motherboard into it.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128502&nm_mc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel&cm_mmc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel-_-Content-_-text-_-

My problem is the the front panel connections from the case don't match color wise or number of pins for the motherboard. For example the Power one is 2 pins ( pos and neg ) and on the board there might be 3 spots with that color. I plugged them in but my power supply won't be here until tuesday next week. Should I just match the colors even though the cables and the board say 2 different things? or what? This is my first build and the manual on the mother board and the manual on the case don't help a single bit. Thanks all

They're not colour coded, read the mobo manual for header pinout instructions,it WILL be in there,
and connect the relevent connectors to the stated pin,
also check the build guide/troubleshooter at the top of this section for tips :),
and relax man, youll be fine as long as you dont rush
Moto

compulsivebuilder

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2011
As Motopsycho says, there's no colour code for these connectors - I have seen some cases where all the front panel cables are the same colour, and others where they seem to have chosen the colours at random. Sometimes they are single wires, sometimes they are connected in sets.

The only really critical wires are the power switch :) Your motherboard has one connector marked PW - that is the power switch. The connection marked PWR is the power LED (the thing that lights up when power is on).

All of this is covered on page 20 of the English version of the manual (I found the manual at http://download.gigabyte.asia/FileList/Manual/mb_manual_ga-z68a-d3h-b3_e.pdf ).

NOTE: you probably won't have anything to connect to MSG or CI - don't worry - just leave them unconnected. You may not have a hard disk LED or even a speaker (not every case does).