SSD possible addition with OEM windows?

jcharger

Honorable
Dec 19, 2012
Recently built my first PC, used mainly as a HTPC with some light to moderate gaming, nothing too intense.

I've read on these boards that OEM win7 is locked to the mobo, so if I add a SSD to the computer, can I re-install on a new drive? Or am I out of luck because I didn't get the retail version of windows?
And, will there be a significant difference in boot-up time and program loading times by using a SSD? Total noob to all this, just glad everything worked as advertised when I plugged it in.

System specs:
ASRock FM2 A85x Extreme6
A10-5700
G.Skill Ares 8 GB at 1866
WD 1 TB HDD 7200 rpm
530w PSU
Win7 Home Premium 64 bit [OEM]
planned... fanless 6670 to crossfire with APU

ram1009

Distinguished
FWIW.......I was/am not blown away by the speed of my SSDs. They are faster, yes. But reports from users and especially OEM claims are exaggerated IMHO. Actually, this doesn't matter to me since I believe the compelling reason to use an SSD is reliability. The added speed does not justify the added cost. You'll only notice it for the first few days on booting and program launch and then it becomes "normal".

jcharger

Honorable
Dec 19, 2012
Appreciate the input. I guess I was so excited about my first build, just wanted to make it "better." Maybe I'm jumping the gun on a SSD.

On a related note, I will never buy a pre-built pc again.

chugot9218

Honorable