demoose

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2011
I'm a novice looking for peripherals for my first custom built computer. I've recently noticed that when purchasing some new motherboards, you must download the latest bios updates before using it. Having looked on places like YouTube, from a novice's point of view it looks extremely complicated to do. I've seen tutorials where you have to download it online onto a USB stick, then go into your bios and upgrade from there. As much as I'm looking forward to building all the new components together, I'm frightened that I won't be able to get the motherboard to work properly because of the way you ensure update your bios has the latest. Is there not an easier way? I also heard that the drivers on the disk which comes included in the box isn't always the latest version and that the preferred method is not to use the CD but to download it from the manufacturer's website instead. Is that right?

misry

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2006
While it's recommended that you update to the latest BIOS it's usually not critical that you do so. Same for the drivers but with the drivers as you install and update windows, you *do* update windows don't you?, you are likely to get updated drivers from MS. As you will learn, you will prefer to have drivers from the manufacturer for best performance of your custom built system. Speaking of once windows is loaded, once in windows a BIOS upgrade is a no brainer but still not a make or break thing.

(1) Bios update is normally only required if you are having a problem. If Not having a problem it is not recommended to upgrade the bios.