Sign in with
Your question

Too much thermopaste

Last response: in CPUs
December 2, 2010 3:59:44 PM

Let me start by saying I am a beginner and I'm learning as I go. I bought a asus sabertooth motherboard with a I7 950
scout case by coolermaster and the V-8 cooler. Well I bought the arctic silver paste and applied the hole tube!! Oops!! How can I fix this. I'm still in the middle of this build. I haven't connected power to it yet. That's another problem I'm having. Can I just wipe off the excess paste and move on? I would hate to have to order another tube.

More about : thermopaste

December 2, 2010 4:03:51 PM

before putting the heat sink on, the right way is to put thermal paste equivalent to volume of 3 rice flakes and with a credit card like card, spread it and make sure an even layer is formed. make sure the paste stays on the upper shiny surface of the CPU and does not get flowing all over the place on the pins.

I am guessing now that you have the entire tube on there, some of it must be on the pins. Very carefully wipe the extra paste off - you can keep some aside to reuse. Wipe the heat sink surface that attaches the CPU clean and then reassemble.

You really need little thermal paste, just enough to cover the shiny surface of CPU with a thin uniform layer.

make sure you touch a metal before touching the bare CPU...
m
l
December 2, 2010 4:14:06 PM

If paste is on the pins will that damage the CPU?
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
December 2, 2010 4:32:14 PM

Whole tube, lol, no offense but were you drunk? I believe arctic silver is electrically conductive, your first concern should be getting all the paste off the mobo, chip and anything else you got it on. Use dust free rags, or q-tips with high purity alcohol. I wouldn't reuse the paste, once it get on other things it is dirty, it might not look it but it is.

You can grab some paste at a Radio Shack, or Microcenter if there's one around, as well as many e-stores on the cheap.