Sign in with
Your question

First Build Ever - for Starcraft II and RPGs

Last response: in Systems
September 11, 2010 6:56:49 AM

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Not sure yet.

BUDGET RANGE: About $800 (including everything)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, web browsing, music

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Mouse, keyboard, speakers

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: US

PARTS PREFERENCES: AMD, and I'm game for anything else...even this I'd be willing to change

OVERCLOCKING: Possibly

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Crossfire eventually

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:

I've never built a PC before. I've been doing a lot of research on here looking at performance charts, articles, etc. I want to play Starcraft II (hopefully on ultra), RPGs like Dragon Age and Mass Effect, and first person shooters like MW2. Here is what I'm thinking for parts:

CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black edition ($150)
RAM: 2 x 2 GB DDR3 ($80 - $110)
Graphics Card: Radeon HD 5770 ($150)
Case: Cooler Master USP 100 w/ 650w power supply ($80)

I'm not too picky about the other parts. I do have a friend that has built PCs before and can help me with actually building it. I don't know how to OC and I'm a little afraid about frying my parts. I have noticed in the builds on Tom's Hardware that they usually go with a more expensive graphics card and a less expensive processor. I'm more concerned about framerate than graphics quality, so let me know if what I have is good option. Like I said, I'm new to this, and any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Haff

More about : build starcraft rpgs

September 11, 2010 8:03:35 AM

haff said:
I'm not too picky about the other parts. I do have a friend that has built PCs before and can help me with actually building it. I don't know how to OC and I'm a little afraid about frying my parts.