Sign in with
Your question

GeForce 9600GT Running Extremely Hot

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 5, 2010 4:02:03 AM

Hello,

For the last couple of days, my computer (brand now... bought in January 2010) has been making some noises which I'm not accustomed to hearing. I'm not sure if this is the sound of the fan running or something else. It is more of a high-pitch tone. While investigating this issue, I noticed that the air coming out of the back vents is very warm... its not hot (you can hold your hand there and not come anywhere near getting burned), but definitely very warm.

Before I go any further, I should mention that my computer is a HP Pavilion desktop (I don't remember the model number, but I can get it if need be) that I bought from BestBuy. I'm a graphic designer, so I need to run Photoshop, etc. on my computer and it needs a good graphics card. When I bought the computer from the kid at BestBuy he told me it had a "top of the line" graphics card. When I got it home, I found that this was not the case.... that the pre-installed "card" (I don't even think it was an actual card) was pretty lousy. Eventually, I got ahold of a local repair tech who recommended installing the GeForce 9600 GT. I bought the card and paid him to install it. No real problems to speak of, until now (the issues described above).

Anyway, I did some checking around online, and was told to download a product called Everest, which I did. When I ran my intial report, it indicated the following values for the temperatures:

Temperatures:

Motherboard 35 °C (95 °F)
CPU 56 °C (133 °F)
CPU #1 / Core #1 40 °C (104 °F)
CPU #1 / Core #2 40 °C (104 °F)
CPU #1 / Core #3 40 °C (104 °F)
CPU #1 / Core #4 40 °C (104 °F)
MCP 110 °C (230 °F)
GPU Diode 67 °C (153 °F)
WDC WD10EADS-65M2B0 [ TRIAL VERSION ]
WDC WD5000AAVS-00ZTB0 [ TRIAL VERSION ]