Sign in with
Your question

New HTPC or New Build

Last response: in Systems
September 13, 2010 11:45:42 PM

Hi all,

Long time lurker, first time poster. Love tom's hardware and this seems like the place for the best advice.

I'm looking at building a rackmount HTPC. Since I'm a relative noob (my last build was a 486 lol) you can say i've been outta the loop for awhile. Just wondering if anyone can reccomend which route I should go or the recommended specs for the unit. The main purpose of the HTPC will be video playback (HD) and possibly gaming (max resolution 1080p) through a projector.

My question is thus. I currently have a Q6700 destktop (HP) with 4 gb ram and a BFG 9800 GT 1MB video card. I'm wondering if that would be sufficent for the HTPC (use those componets) and do a new desktop build or get new stuff for the htpc and keep desktop the way it is.

Main use for the desktop would be video conversion, internet and odd game, etc. Should I stick with the Q6700 for the desktop or put it in the HTPC?

If I do a new desktop build I'm probably leaning towards an AMD setup with a 955 or 965 BE processor and probably a 5770 or nvidia 460 vid card, 4 gb ram, along with a couple WD 1TB Black edition hard drives. Overclocking may be a factor if I do a new desktop build.

Sorry for not using the correct form, but again I am new. Budget is about $1500 CAN.

Thanks for your help and look forward to reading your replies.

More about : htpc build

September 13, 2010 11:53:40 PM

Those parts are overkill for an HTPC, but they're also kinda high on the noise/energy/heat side of things.

Newer processors do end up being a significantly faster in video encoding, but it may be worth it to wait for SB/BD.
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
September 14, 2010 12:47:06 AM

samoyed_storm said:
The main purpose of the HTPC will be video playback (HD) and possibly gaming (max resolution 1080p) through a projector.