egyptianmezo

Honorable
Aug 18, 2012
Hi,
i have no experience with NAS or servers. i need something to hold about 1 TB maybe 2 TB max, files are: software, pics, videos and documents. i need to be able to share them with 2 computers, 1 laptop, 2 iPads and 2 iphones. i need to be able to access the files from anywhere. right now i have them on a 1tb Baraccuda 7200.14 installed on the computer and i have the file shared, even though i have cat 6 cables and gigabit ports on all network its very slow to copy or paste or load to view files in folder (the videos cuz they are a lot huge and all in 1 folder). running windows 7 home premium.
i was looking to buy the Synology DS213 http://www.amazon.com/Synology-Feature-Rich-Attached-Workgroup-DS213/dp/B008U68UHG
i build computers all the time for office, gaming and even liquid cooling. and it doesn't feel right to buy something like this when i know i can build it. am i right? or should i just buy it? will a built nas do the same thing and the things i want or no? will it be faster or not? and finally which components in a nas affect speed? if you think i should build what configs do u recommend

j2j663

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2011
To start honestly I do not have a wide variety of experiences with NAS but I am running a FreeNAS system very successfully and with a bit of tinkering and learning I am finding ways to do everything I want to plus a whole lot more.