High Disk Activity caused by System PID4!

robert0joe

Honorable
Dec 27, 2012
Hi! I'm new to Tom's Hardware and this is my first question/thread.

So first here is my system specifications:
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel i3 2.4GHz
4GB RAM
It's a Laptop

So here comes the short version:
I have high disk activity which causes my PC to lag.

Long/Complete version:
So I was watching a movie and It was lagging, It was impossible to watch as the video gets messed up and the audio cuts. I was using Windows media player, so I decided to download and try VLC if Windows Media Player was the problem, and to my dismay, VLC was lagging to. It even happens to music, but rarer. I have this desktop gadget that tells the RAM & processor usage but it just resting there (RAM 30%, CPU 5%) when the lag occurs. So I decided to play games instead, and to my worst expectations, the all my games are lagging too. So I started to do my bi-monthly (twice a month) maintenance early. I ran my anti-virus, cleaned and defragmented my registry, cleaned and defragmented my HDD, updated windows, my apps, and drivers. I tried to watch my movies again but the lag still occurs. After a few days of trying to solve the problem, I decided to back my files up and re-install Windows.