Sign in with
Your question

ATI 5850 CrossFireX or single 5870?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
Anonymous
August 9, 2010 7:14:42 PM

So which one is the best option to consider buying? I currently have a 4850 X2 & it seems a bit of a bottleneck for my system (i'm a video editor/gamer) :bounce: 

Thanks,

Mandeep
a c 125 U Graphics card
August 9, 2010 7:29:11 PM

One HD5850 will equal your HD4850X2, So getting 2 x HD5850's will give you about 75% more performance than you have now. A single HD5870 will only give you about 20% more performance than your HD4850X2 but is obviously cheaper than 2 X HD5850's.
a c 177 U Graphics card
August 9, 2010 7:30:12 PM

I'd go for one HD5850 for now and see how it goes, that card can handle almost everything out there at 1080 resolution maxed out at good framerates.
If one is not enough then you can CF later-or if it is enough, leave the option open for a future upgrade, either way it should be a worthwhile purchase.
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
August 9, 2010 7:31:05 PM

dual 5850's hands down but your CPU at stock clocks is going to cause a slight bottleneck.
Anonymous
August 9, 2010 7:33:32 PM

coozie7 said:
I'd go for one HD5850 for now and see how it goes, that card can handle almost everything out there at 1080 resolution maxed out at good framerates.
If one is not enough then you can CF later-or if it is enough, leave the option open for a future upgrade, either way it should be a worthwhile purchase.

Hmm.. that's useful, thanks
Anonymous
August 9, 2010 7:34:11 PM

Rustyy117 said:
One HD5850 will equal your HD4850X2, So getting 2 x HD5850's will give you about 75% more performance than you have now. A single HD5870 will only give you about 20% more performance than your HD4850X2 but is obviously cheaper than 2 X HD5850's.

:o  that's usefull thanks :D 
Anonymous
August 9, 2010 7:34:34 PM

OvrClkr said:
dual 5850's hands down but your CPU at stock clocks is going to cause a slight bottleneck.