Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First Build! Is this suitable rig?

Last response: in Systems
September 19, 2010 1:39:02 AM

Hello Tom’s Hardware Community!

This is my first time building a desktop and was seeking advice or other suggestions. Since I have never attempted this before I am using a company called iBuyPower to help with the process. They offer a semi-custom build process were I can select from a wide range of components.

This setup will not be used for gaming. Its primary purpose is for writing software code using parallel programming, hyper-threading techniques. I am an undergrad and have some knowledge with programming however I am a novice in the hardware world. My budget is under $1000.

Do you guys think this is a decent rig for my specifications? Also, is it wise to use a site such as iBuyPower to help build a desktop? Are there other competitors that perform similar requests, or should I proceed with caution.

The main components include:

PROCESSOR: Intel Core i7 950 Processor (4x 3.06Ghz/8MB L3 Cache)

MEMORY: 6 GB [2 GB X3] DDR3-1600 Corsair

VIDEO CARD: ATI Radeon HD 5450 – 1GB

MOTHERBOARD: ASUS P6T SE

HARD DRIVE: 1TB 16M Cache, 7200 RPM, 3.0Gb/s

Along with the other components, this setup comes out to $930. I can add the other components in this thread if anyone prefers, however I do not have as much flexibility with them. Any suggestions/modifications on this matter would be appreciated, thank you.

(Is this your homework, Larry?)

More about : build suitable rig

Best solution

September 20, 2010 3:57:43 PM

If you're using IBuyPower, you're not building it. I would highly recommend you reconsider buying a prebuilt, as you'll be overcharged for inferior parts, get poor build quality and get terrible support. Check out the companies at the Better Business Bureau (bbb.org) for some horror stories.

Here's what I generally recommend for CPU intensive builds (for specific advice, follow the guidelines in the link from my signature):