Rate my $750 Build (3d mark scores included)

katiklysm

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2010
I have run Prime95 for about an Hour.

I didn't see where it was reporting anything performance related in it- so I didn't use it much for benching (should I be?)

I mainly wanted to see what my Core Temp maxxed at. It appeared that 2 of my cores maxed at a disappointing 80C, and though I was going to put off the OC/heatsink for a couple of months- I'm a bit worried that I may not have seated the stock garbage heatsink correctly so I'd like to get that rectified so that I am not pushing within 20C of TJ MAX.

g048989h

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2009
Not for benchmarking but to ensure stability in CPU cores, RAM, HDD and PSU. I dont know how familiar you are with it, I am no expert but have found it useful in tweaking settings for max performance. Most people say 24 hours of prime, I run for 12 hrs. If you have some paste around you could re-seat the stock HSF and see if it helps. I guess you know to clean both the CPU and the base of the HSF and re-apply new paste if you decide to try that. For all I know I-5's run 80c under load. Have you Goggled it? A HSF isn't expensive. CM Hyper 212 + would meet your needs for less than 40.00.

leastat

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2010
Memory 3072 MB ? its not showing all 4 gigs in benchmark
but all in all it runs on par with my overclocked core 2 quad at 3.33ghz with dual gtx260s not a bad system if ur looking for air cooling i would go with the Prolimatech CPU Cooler for Intel Socket 1156, 1366 and 775 it will sell for about 50$ on amazon

katiklysm

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2010

Memory is on 3GB when using a 1GB Graphics card. A full 1GB physical is devoted to the PCI-E Lane.

For Coolers I have it does between: Prolima Megahalems, CM Hyper 212+, and Scythe Mugen 2 Rev b.

I think it will need to be the CM Hyper though- as my RAM has a relatively high profile and I am afraid that an intruding heatsink would not fit the board/ram.

leastat

Distinguished