Sign in with
Your question

Beeps from PC

Last response: in Components
December 12, 2010 9:11:13 PM

I have a HP Pavillon 6580t three months old and have had quite a few problems with it. Twice the fan has made a very loud noise, which when I reboot goes away. Now I have three beeps on booting up, spaced about 1 minute apart, three times. I called on Saturday and the tech ran a 2.5-hour SMART test, which passed. Then, after spending 3 hours on phone with an HP tech yesterday reseating the RAM, unplugging and replugging both fans, and him running full diagnostic tests, everything seems to have "passed." I called back today (after being disconnected last night and not a call back) and was told that the next thing to do was to do a recovery as he said it must be software. This is Windows 7 64-bit, 6 GB RAM, 750 GB memory, 512 MB ATI Radeon graphics. I told him I would back up and call them back. The problem is that I do transcription for a living and the last time they I had to do a recovery (I believe unnecessarily), I lost everything I need to work, programs, macros, etc... Bottom line is, nothing I read on the net leads me to believe that it is software related, rather more like motherboard, RAM, video card or sound card. Any suggestions as to how I can figure this out without having to do another recovery and putting all my work back in?? :( 

More about : beeps

December 13, 2010 4:57:49 AM

I believe it is a component. Clear CMOS and restart. If it does the same, remove one ram stick one at a time and restart. If the problem persists remove cpu and hcf and reseat.
m
l
December 13, 2010 12:49:12 PM

When your computer boots take note of the brand of bios it is.
Why i say this is because what your getting is a bios beep error code.
As you have noted the pattern of beeps.

do a search for the brand of bios chip on the computer and type bios error beep codes (name/brand) in google.
Eg. Award bios beep code errors.