Sign in with
Your question
Solved

SSD and HDD Set up

Last response: in Storage
December 29, 2012 4:47:25 PM

I'm not very familiar with Windows, I normally use Ubunutu Linux, but due to some difficulties I will be installing it. That being said, I have no idea what to do xD I asked about driver installation (don't think I have gotten replies yet though), but I also need to know how to set the SSD as the boot and the HDD as the storage. I know to install Windows before connecting the HDD, but what do I do from there? How do I mount or install or whatever the HDD? What do I put where? Complete noob in regards to this haha.

Components:
90GB Corsair Force3 SSD
2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD
Windows 7 Ultimate
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 Motherboard

If any additional info is needed, just ask.
Thanks in advance. =)

More about : ssd hdd set

a b G Storage
December 29, 2012 5:44:20 PM

LOL... if you use to Linux.. Windows will be a breeze...

No need "install windows before connecting the HDD"... just connect them up....
And go through the install... it will detect the drives... you can chose which to install windows on...
and then it will all "just happen"... windows will be installed and when you start it up the first time
your other HDD will be there... you dont need manually "mount" it etc.. . this is windows

Fro Drivers... Windows will prob have most of what you need within its installs... but as long as you have the network driver.. so windows can connect to internet when it starts.. it will find most of any remaining drivers it needs as part of its "windows update" process.

Have fun
HTH
Cheers
m
l
December 30, 2012 2:13:38 AM

yoji said:
LOL... if you use to Linux.. Windows will be a breeze...

No need "install windows before connecting the HDD"... just connect them up....
And go through the install... it will detect the drives... you can chose which to install windows on...