Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Adding a graphic card to HP Pavilion 6510 or 6520?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 10, 2010 10:16:33 PM

I've been considering buying an HP Pavilion 6510f or a 6520f, but I noticed it only has integrated graphics, so I decided I'd buy the computer (It's from a friend, nearly new, 250$ :p ) and then add in a video card that will allow occasional photo shopping and gaming. Nothing too extreme.

However, I went on HP's website and found that the power supply that comes with those two are 250w. I believe I read somewhere even the lowest level of graphic cards require 300w. Since I probably need to upgrade the PSU as well, how should I go about doing this? I'm not very experienced at changing computer components myself, but I thought HP prebuilt computers often don't fit well with other PSU's. Does anyone have any suggestions for PSUs, or graphic cards they know will for sure work with the HP Pavilion 6510f/6520f? Also, for the PSU, since those two models use a micro verson of ATX motherboards I believe, would it be better to look for a new case that comes with a power supply to ensure everything would fit well?

I'm not too worried about the psychically changing parts/adding in cards thing, just more of what would be compatible with a prebuilt HP computer.
August 11, 2010 10:29:42 AM

Er.... yeah. I would avoid HP computers like the plague. The motherboards can catch you out. Sometimes they dont fit the standard form factors, and often the BIOS is very limited or locked completely.

Not to say this is always the case, though, you may well be fine.

OK, I found this:

http://www3.shopping.com/xPO-Hewlett-Packard-HP-Pavilio...

According to this spec sheet, the motherboard DOES have a PCIexpress 16x slot, which means you will be able to put a new graphics card inside it.