HAF X & X58A UD3R fans connecting issue

drshim82

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2010
Hi Guys,

I'm currently building a pc and having a problem with connecting case fans and cpu cooling fans. This is my first build and I have no idea how to connect all those fans to mobo and psu. Could please anyone help? I have Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo, Haf X case, and Corsair HX850W, Corsair H50 cpu cooling.

Gigabyte X58A UD3R mobo has 1 cpu fan header, 1 power fan header, 3 system fan headers.

Haf X case has 4 case fans with 3-pin connector and peripheral power plug (200mm side fan, 230mm front fan, 2x 200mm top fans), 2x 120mm cpu fans for H50 with 4 pin connector, and 120mm fan for video card with 4 pin connectors.

which ones should I plug to mobo and which ones are for psu?

Do I need to get fan splitter and adapters?

Please help. lol

Thanks in advance.

Solution
I have the Scout, which is basically wired the same as yours. Unfortunately, CM doesn't have any wiring diagrams for the fans, and nothing is labeled.
What I have found is:
Red and Black wire connectors are for the fan LED's
Yellow and black wire connectors are for the fans.
Most of the fan connectors are 4-pin molex, you may have one or two that are 3-pin mobo connectors (black,yellow,red). These can be connected to the mobo. DO NOT connect the red/black connectors to the mobo even if they have 3-pin mobo connectors on them.
The molex fan connectors can be used on the mobo thru adapters, male molex to female 3-pin.
Seems that CM wants us to utilize their case switches for LED's and fan speeds.
As far as what supplies what, you'll have...

jockey

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2010
I have the Scout, which is basically wired the same as yours. Unfortunately, CM doesn't have any wiring diagrams for the fans, and nothing is labeled.
What I have found is:
Red and Black wire connectors are for the fan LED's
Yellow and black wire connectors are for the fans.