Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First time build (Gaming Pc) 2000$ Budget

Last response: in Systems
September 22, 2010 6:48:55 PM

Hi,

I'm kinda new to tom's, I've read a few articles here and there and have posted maybe once before. I'm looking to build a new PC for gaming and some (workstation virtualization for school).It is also my first build ever, I've done a few upgrade and such on previous computers but I want this to be a balanced, and stable machine that will last quite a while. I don't really Have a budget however I would like to stay under 2000$. I'm an Intel fan, so I'll defiantly be looking for an Intel Proc. I'll be running at games at 1920×1080 (Starcraft II, WoW, MW2 etc...). I Hope to not have to upgrade any parts until about 2 years from now, so if I need to OC to squeeze some more longevity of it I will.

this is what I'm looking at so far...

Processor: Intel Core i7-950 Bloomfield 3.06GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor BX80601950
Motherboard: ASUS P6T LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
RAM: Patriot Extreme Performance
Gaming Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
Graphics Card: ASUS 5870 EYEFINITY 6/6S/2GD5 Radeon HD 5870 (Cypress XT) 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Eyefinity 6 Edition Video Card
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black WD6402AAEX 640GB
Power Supply: CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91
DVD Burner: Salvageable from Previous
O.S. Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)

I'm still not sure of the difference between the i5 and i7, and I'm still not sure about my GPU either whether to go x1 or x2 or ati or nvidia.

Any suggestion, information or opinion, or even if you think It would be more beneficial to go AMD Proc I'm open to suggestions as long as there is some reasoning behind it.

Thanks in advance
September 22, 2010 9:33:32 PM

The i7 950 is the top of the line sensible CPU right now.