RAID utility does not show P8Z68 Pro

Status
Not open for further replies.

powercroat783

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2011
Hello, I am a noob. This is the first computer I have ever built, so excuse the fact that I may not call things by their proper name and for my all around nubishness.

I will make this short, I have a P8Z68 Pro Mobo as well as a 60gb SSD and will soon be getting two 500gb HDD. I wanted to set up the two HDDs in RAID0 and then set up the SSD in JBOD. I go into the BIOS and set the Sata Config To RAID. I then restart the computer, and I the Intel RAID Array Utility/Config Thing does not show up, and I am smashing on Ctrl+I the entire time.

The Bios has been flashed and the CMOS cleared many times, please help.

Solution
Welcome to Tom's Forum! :)

First you don't want to RAID 0 your data drive, this is bad because: 1. either HDD fails = poof all data goes bye-bye, 2. RAID fails or gets moved = poof & ditto. edit: have the HDD(s) as JBOD or better in RAID 1 {mirrored}; in RAID 1 if one drives fails then the mirror has the the data. In any case, it's still best to use a HDD to periodically back-up/snap shot of your data. Reason if there's a total corruption then you have a mirrored copy of the 'total corruption' and the backup would be the only way to retrieve your data.

Assuming the SSD is the primary {Gray SATA3} and the HDD is formatted on {Blue SATA2} or both are on the {Gray SATA3} ports RAID won't work. Only the Intel SATA2 ports offer RAID...
Welcome to Tom's Forum! :)