Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading Hardware (First Time)

Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
a b B Homebuilt system
September 27, 2010 6:57:43 PM

Hey all, I am remodeling my PC entrails and was looking for some advice, I am looking to be able to sufficiently play 'FFXIV' and also Render from 3d Studio Max for university. Although not at the same time.

My budget is around £600.00 (UK) the price isn't important its more advice and guidance I'm looking for so I can become more efficient at this in the future.

My Computer stands as:
Mobo: P5N32-SLI Premium
http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=DEhVtxvkJYAj0jQL&...
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 2.40Ghz
GPU: Radeon x1600 series
RAM: DDR2 800mhz 2gb (2x1gb)

I was hoping someone could shed some light on how I could upgrade sufficiently with the 'mobo' I have, if not what to get.

As far as power pack voltage and over clocking goes, I am new to the concepts completely. I have no idea how to determine the voltage required when it comes to power packs. As far as over-clocking goes I have researched how they work. I just have no practical experience what-so-ever.

The best I can come up with is to increase the processor to a E6700, and possible over clock it? Although I am nervous to do so.
Grab a Nvidia GTX 460 1gb VRAM for the board, but again i am not sure if the 'mobo' or processor could support it?
And finally increasing the RAM to 4bg of 1066Mhz.

Any advice or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

There is a link to FFXIV System spec's.
http://www.ffxivcore.com/wiki/System_Requirements

Thank you,

Marc Cameron
a b B Homebuilt system
September 27, 2010 7:33:39 PM

With the exception of the x1600 and need to plus up your memory to 4GB, what have now is okay for most apps. However, all are somewhat dated.