ATI 5970 or 5870?

Steffwiz

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2009
I'm a tech enthusiast and I like to stay top of the line. I own a GTX 295, and don't like it. It's really buggy and I'm looking for a new card.

I'm thouroughly convinced I want to switch to ATI. Nvidia is buggy, their cards use a lot more power and get really hot. You Nvidia fans might be able to convince me otherwise.

But, on to my real question. Should I buy a 5970 or should I buy two 5870s for CrossFire?

Only factors I care about are performance and ability to last. I don't want to buy two 5870s just to replace both of them in a month.

Any help would be appreciated, but I would prefer replies telling me about the pros and cons of both setups and not replies just telling me what I should get.

Solution
What Mobo do you have? I would say neither.

For you, dual 5850s are great for the money, OC it and you can easily surpass the 5970 performances.

Though as of right now, dual GTX460s are a nice option that matches dual 5850s performance wise for $100+ less, but you lose an upgrade path depending on your Mobo.

One last option is the GTX470 SLI, great value, but runs hot and sucks alots of power compared to the other 2.

Timop

Distinguished
What Mobo do you have? I would say neither.

For you, dual 5850s are great for the money, OC it and you can easily surpass the 5970 performances.

Though as of right now, dual GTX460s are a nice option that matches dual 5850s performance wise for $100+ less, but you lose an upgrade path depending on your Mobo.

One last option is the GTX470 SLI, great value, but runs hot and sucks alots of power compared to the other 2.

Solution
ATI is buggy to. There last few drivers have caused some issues. But well come to highend graphics. haha.