Sign in with
Your question

Another Guy Just Starting Out looking for reassurnace

Last response: in Systems
September 28, 2010 7:43:21 AM

I'm sure you have all heard it before, but I'm interested in building my own PC and kinda getting in there and getting dirty. De-mistifying the process, and maybe even learning a wee bit in the process.

I have no background in hardware, and no in depth knowledge in either what to look for, or what to look out for.

My goals:

1) Take the PC into my living room and using it to connect with my TV to play movies and music. ( I don't have to get crazy about downloading TV as I generally don't watch much)

2) Play games - FPS Shooters ect.

3) Build computer applications, and use it for my home business. This means I have to protect the data, and have a recoverable system in the event of common hardware failures (data).

What I have to figure out:
- Should I just dial up Dell and order a 9100 series XPS?
- How hard is really to build a PC? I mean, do you just order the items listed in a few 'builds' connect some wires and everything works?
- If it all blows up, does this community help each other getting stuff to work?

I'm a 40 year old executive type who is out of work and planning on taking this on as a personal project to expand my mind a little.

So in short - What's my first step? And is this really just that simple?

Budget: $1,000 +/- 200
September 28, 2010 9:29:15 AM

Ordering the last few parts of my first build tomorrow.

So I'm a newbie at this, but I can tell you I learned a LOT on this site. Read read read. Go through the articles, look at many builds... Take each component and learn it's basics, at least. Read lots of professional reviews of components you're considering.

Finding the best parts at the best prices ensures your bang for buck and gives you a much better deal than anything you'd get from hp or Dell or whatever