Help! New build, Boot REALLY slow! SSD Problem???

euphoria4949

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2012
Hi everyone, I really need some help with this please.

I have just built my new gaming rig, spent a hell of a lot on it as I wanted it to be great, and it "Should" have been a MASSIVE improvement over the piece of junk I was using for the past few years......... BUT, it pains me to have to say I am really disappointed, there must be something wrong, surely!!

The problem I'm having is the boot up, it takes forever! I wasn't expecting it to boot up in 5 seconds flat, but it's taking nearly 2 minutes, surely that can't be right!?! I am a complete noob regarding SSD's but I have been reading up so I knew what to do when I first installed it, like TRIM and AHCI are enabled, but other than that I'm lost with how to set them up or what to check.

Typical boot goes like this: power on, 3 seconds MoBo splash, windows splash 8-10 seconds, desktop screen.................. 1 minute 30 seconds later it's loaded and it's ready. I don't have a million programs trying to run at start up just a few like the ASUS AI Suite II, Intel Rapid Storage Tech which I haven't disabled yet. I benched it and the results are included.

So what could it be, I'm really lost as to why it's taking so long???

This is my build: 3570k (stock clock at the moment), 8GB Corsair Vengeance, Samsung 830 256GB SSD, ASUS Z77 Sabertooth.

Please any help would be amazing,
Thank you.

larrym

Honorable
Oct 29, 2012
ok, just a few things...

Did you install the OS with just the SSD connected (no other HDD's connected) to the MOBO in the number 1 SATA 3 slot?

Did you install the Sata 3 drivers for the MOBO?

Do you have the SSD connected to the SATA 3 number one slot?

euphoria4949

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2012

Thank you for replying, I really appreciate it.