samhawkes86

Distinguished
Sep 28, 2010
Hi guys,

Well I'm new to building computers and would like advise on the compbents I have selected for my first ever gaming budget computer build,

1. Core i7 3Ghz 960 1366 socket CPU

2. Gtx 460 1gb gpu (I plan on adding a secod one of there's later)

3. ASUS P6X58D x58 socket 1366 motherboard

4. Corsair 4GB DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel Memory Kit

5. Western digital 500gb 16mb hard drive

6. Samsung DVD/cd rewriter optical drive

7. 650W Ocuk crusader pay SLI Certified psu

8. Mid tower case (not picked one yet)

Total cost £750

So there you go. What do you think? I'm also going to add an ssd for my operating system and games but I won't be getting that for a couple of months due to cash flow.

Also, I already have a copy of windows 7 home premuim and a micosift side winder x6 keyboard and sidewinder x8 mouse I will be using. As for a monitor, I'll be playing through my 1080p 32inch samsung LCD.

I'm planning if ordering this stuff within the next few days so tell menwha you think,

Thanks guys

Sam

NeoElemental

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2010
I'm assuming this is primarily for gaming and that you won't be doing much cpu intensive work (video rendering/encoding or extensive photoshop).

If that is the case, and you like intel, I would HIGHLY suggest you get the i5-760 with the LGA1156 socket. Most games only support dual core and so you don't really gain an advantage of the quad core i7-9xx series. If you really want a i7-9xx, then I would say just get a 930. The extra clock speed is something that you can unlock on your own super easily and most likely not worth the extra money you're paying.

If you are staying with the 9xx, you would need RAM in multiples of 3, not 2, since memory is triple threaded. If you are taking my advice and switching to the 760, then stay with the 4gbs. Otherwise, step up to 6gb.