Sign in with
Your question

AMD Sempron > AMD 64 X2

Last response: in Components
December 25, 2010 5:31:07 PM

I am looking to replace my AMD Sempron with an AMD 64 X2 on my NF61V micro AM2 mainboard. At the same time I am increasing my hard drive to 1TB and my RAM to two 1GB sticks, 2GBs total. Currently I have 80GB hard drive and 1 stick of 256 MB RAM. I am also looking to change from Windows XP operating system to Windows 7. Is this advisable? And will it work? I chiefly use my computer for music and college school work.

If its not obvious by what I just wrote, I am a novice computer person. I have spent hours reading different sites on what to do, I just want some personalized help.

More about : amd sempron amd

December 26, 2010 12:02:04 AM

256mb ram? thats terrible? yes you should definitely upgrade to 2gb! and windows 7 is a great os, it will actually run faster than xp on that machine. what psu are you using? make sure it has the power for the better cpu!
m
l
December 26, 2010 12:31:06 AM

Is this your mobo?
http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/mb/content.php?S_I...

You can get a 45W or 65W Athlon II X2 like:

AMD Athlon X2
5050e 45W ADH5050IAA5DO - 2.6GHz
4850e 45W (code ADH2300IAA5DD) - 2.5GHz
4450e 45W ADH4450IAA5DO - 2.3GHz
5400+ 65W ADO5400IAA5DO or ADO5400IAA5DS - 2,8GHz
4600+ ADO4600IAA5DO - 2.4GHz
etc
or others from here
http://products.amd.com/en-us/desktopcpuresult.aspx?f1=...

Since the CPU support list isn't working for that mobo on their sites better contact them and ask if all the Athlon X2 CPUs are supported on your BIOS version and on the latest. From the link below I see that they made another BIOS (N61VMB03.BS)- "Added support AM2 new CPU". On the other page on top of this reply the latest version is N61vm524.bs with Win7 support and there are new drivers too.

http://www.biostar-usa.com/mbdetails.asp?model=nf61v%20...