Please check my build

ulycarr

Distinguished
May 28, 2010
Hey, its my first time building a new system and i wanted to check with the pros.
I basically want to know if this case will give good enough cooling and if this HSF will, as well as if the RAM MOBO and PSU look good.

Planning to overclock i7 930 to 3.6 - 4.0 Ghz so need to know if this cooler can do it.

Case
HSF
RAM
MOBO
CPU

Also it will have 2x GTX 480 which is why I want to know about the PSU and mobo. Like will it have enough power for all that ? Could I get PSU with less Watts ?

I will be adding another fan on the case on the side

Solution
The Cooler Master hyper 212 plus cooler will take you to around 3.8 Ghz, but after that, the heat is too much for it. Here is a model for only a couple $ more that should do better: ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa

Here is another Antec case for only $18 more, after rebate: Antec Twelve Hundred Black Steel ATX Full Tower

Here is a combo package for the CPU that upgrades the motherboard to an EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-KR LGA 1366 for only $3 more. EVGA is not really the best high end mobo maker. You might want to consider ASUS or Gigabyte. You are able to get better PCIe slots with this ASUS P6T LGA 1366 mobo/CPU combo.

Consider slightly more expensive memory: G.SKILL PI...

eloric

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2010
The Cooler Master hyper 212 plus cooler will take you to around 3.8 Ghz, but after that, the heat is too much for it. Here is a model for only a couple $ more that should do better: ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa

Here is another Antec case for only $18 more, after rebate: Antec Twelve Hundred Black Steel ATX Full Tower

Here is a combo package for the CPU that upgrades the motherboard to an EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-KR LGA 1366 for only $3 more. EVGA is not really the best high end mobo maker. You might want to consider ASUS or Gigabyte. You are able to get better PCIe slots with this ASUS P6T LGA 1366 mobo/CPU combo.