Autocad/Gaming Build

G

Hello I am new to the forum so excuse my ignorance if I post something in the wrong fashion. I am a student and I am hoping to build a rig for both cad and gaming. I have pretty much narrowed it down to the core i7 940x for the processor. My biggest concern is the graphics card(s). I'm having troubles deciding on one that would work well for both CAD work and gaming. So if I could get suggestions on what the best options would be keeping the price reasonable (under 800 for the graphics cards). I do like the idea of SLI/CrossfireX either now or in the future.

Thanks

G

Thanks A lot!

pproximate Purchase Date: Within a month

Budget Range: Under $2000

System Usage from Most to Least Important: AutoCad (2d &3d) , Gaming, A little photoshop work, Blu ray ripping and enoding

Parts Not Required: Operating System, Case, Power Supply

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg but open to other suggestions

Parts Preferences: by brand or type: Intel core i7 cpu, graphics card is up for grabs

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Yes

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080, 1920x1200

Additional Comments: As said above mainly for cad and gaming. I am pretty much set on the core i7 940x but am open to suggestions on graphics cards and mobos.

eloric

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2010
Just a couple more questions/comments. What case do you have? Need to make sure the graphics cards fit. What is your power supply? How old is it? That may also affect the choice of GPU.

Also, the i7-940 is not actively being sold - Newegg is out of stock, for example. The cpu being marketed right now is the i7-930, and it is in the process of being replaced with the i7-950.

Finally, do you live near a MicroCenter? They have really good prices on processors.

Thanks for the information. It will really help get you a better configuration.

G