I7 950 vs X6 1090T Black

FatalyFlawed

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2010
Greetings all. O.K. Im new to this so if im causing greif let me know . I will modify my style.

My question is Which platform is best. I can build on either of the 2 CPU's Listed in the thread name for very close to the same money.
I guess you all would need a bit of information to be able to give good advice. So here goes.
Finaly for the first time i have enough (around $3000 AU) to build a worthwhile system. I have had a lot more AMD based platforms in the past than Intel. But i am not committed to or against either of them.
I originally researched and priced an AMD solution purely from the belief that the equivalent Intel option would be significantly more expensive. Turns out that i was wrong, I think!
I live in Perth (west Australia) Which is relevant how you ask? Well going into a shop out here and asking about AMD gets a reaction akin to vomiting on the salesman's desk. That said i did eventualy find a shop (PLE computers) Willing to work with "the other chip company"
It was here that the posability of an Intel System loomed when the guy said he could do a good 17 system for the same cost. Show me i said. He Did
i7 950 , GA-X58A-UD5, 12GB Kingston DDR3 C9 1600mhz, XFX HD5870 850M , Spinpoint F3 1TB ,LG BluRay writer, Corsair 850W PSU , Centurion 690 II, 24" Asus monitor .

FatalyFlawed

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2010

Yeah well took a look you would see that i already replied to that one.Still there quite a lot to plow through there, so i could see why you wouldn't pay it too much attention. Also i don't entirely think i did post two threads the same. Another user happened to post a thread with the same title on the same day as me. I think that that(sic) is the duplication.