Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Building a new computer

Last response: in Storage
January 10, 2013 3:58:27 PM

hi everyone !

I may have the possibilities to change my comp in a few months (1-2) so I was checking on the net for the new parts and all.
I'm not that good with new parts so I come here and ask if everything will be ok. For the post I wasn't sure as to where to put it, so since one of the question I have is for the SSDs then here it is.

Parts:
- ASUS Rampage 4 extreme
- Cooler Master Cosmos II
- Corsair Dominator Platinum 32 Go Quad channel
- Intel Core i7 3970x extreme
- Corsair Neutron GTX 240 go SATA3 (x2) (Raid 0 )
- Seagate Constellation ES.2 2TB SATA3 (x2) (Raid 1)
- EVGA GeForce 680 GTX FTW+ 4GB (x2) ( may be replaced by 1x 690 GTX but not sure)
- Corsair H100I CPU cooler

Question 1 : I thought about puting the 2 SSDs in RAID 0 for the system drive, but the problem is.... I don't know if the board support 2 SSD in RAID... I heard about some problems about having those kinda drive in RAID in it and wanted to ask if you guys can tell me if there is troubles or not or if there is something to do/buy to make it work in advance before buying it.

Question 2 : Since I'm not that familiar with building everything from scratch i wanted to know if it is possible to have 2 type of RAID at the same time ( SSD in RAID 0 + HDD in RAID 1) since 0 is better for performance gain and 1 is for data safety.

Question 3 : (will make it clear now since i totally forgot... I have a PSU that i will keep, so I dont have to buy a new one) For the video card, I've read about it a little, in term of performance I think that the 690 is as good as 2x 680, but not quite sure. The real question is, what will be best ? 1x 690 GTX, 2x 680 GTX, or is there something better in Radeon ?