Sign in with
Your question

System reboots under heavy graphic load while playing Arma 2

Last response: in Components
December 29, 2010 8:52:04 AM

Hey. I recently built a new pc. Have been building my own for many years. So I'm sure its put together correctly.Recently I started playing a new game called ARMA 2 its pretty heavy on the graphics. So after playing for a few hours I get a random reboot no BSOD or anything just shuts right off on me. My system is as follows. Feels like PSU but for a new sys and a 1000 W i hope its driver or something. I cant return the PSU I dont think.

Thermaltake TR2 RX 1000W Modular PSU

i7 960
Asus P65e Deluxe
6 gig OCZ ram
EVGA gtx 470 x 1
2 x WD 500 gig SATA

win 7 ultimate 64 updated
dual monitor display

not the latest drivers for vid card. definitely not a cooling problem its freezing in the room i play in like 3-4 celsius I figure a 1000w should be enough for one 470. Have been playing Blackops for hours no problems. WOW no problems for marathon sessions. Seems to only happen with this new game Im playin.. Any suggestions
a b ) Power supply
December 29, 2010 10:12:43 AM

Have you run Prime95, memtest and Furmark on your PC? The IC (i.e. CPU) are characterized from -40C to 125C with some even higher. The PSU should be generating enough heat from within. As long as there is no condensation inside the PC hardware and PSU it should be fine.

Record the last temp of the CPU and GPU just before it reset/reboot. The important thing is DIE temp not the outside temp. Part of the game may be driving the GPU to heat up in very short period. Similar to the STARTCRAFT GPU over heating issue. This is just an speculation.

Is there a specific segment of the game that it reboots?

Have you check for a patch on the ARMA 2 game? That is looking at it as software related bug.
m
l
a b ) Power supply
December 29, 2010 11:59:16 AM

Run memtest for 8hrs, always seems to be memory when it comes to random blue screens for me.