Upgrade this pre-built

NicholasJ

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2010
Hello Everyone, been lurking for a while but 1st time poster. I'm looking for some advice regarding the prebuilt system I recently purchased. I'm relatively new to PC gaming that is demanding on the hardware so I had a couple of questions.

I recently purchased this prebuilt IBUYPOWER desktop:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883227257

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T(2.8GHz)
ASUS M4A77TD
Processor Main Features: 64 bit Six-Core Processor
Cache Per Processor: 6 x 512KB L2 Cache
Memory: 4GB (2GB x 2) DDR3 1333 (Corsair Dominator)
Hard Drive: 500GB SATAII
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 5750 1GB

I use a LG E2350V 1080p display.

Here are my FFXIV benchmark results:
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1 build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.100618-1621) AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor (6 CPUs), ~2.8GHz ATI RADEON HD 5700 Series

LOW(1280x720)
Score: 3925
Load Time: 18432

HIGH(1920x1080)
Score: 2179
Load Time: 18666

What would be the best way to improve performance? I can run the game smoothly with toned down graphics in 1440x900 Windowed mode but I would like more. What type of upgrade would give me the most bang for my buck? Or would simply learning about overclocking help me a lot?

Also, there are currently 2 Corsair 2gb sticks of RAM part number CM3X2G1333C9NX 9-9-9-24. What memory is compatible if I wanted to add two more 2gb sticks? I've found similar model numbers, but nothing exact, and I wanted to make sure it would be compatible.

Thanks for taking the time to read and sorry for the barrage of questions. Look forward to hearing your responses. :)

-Nick

cmcghee358

Distinguished
1st of all. You dont need more RAM.

2nd of all you need a GPU upgrade. Unfortunately for you, its a 770 motherboard so you can't get a 2nd GPU, you have to buy a new one, and replace your old one.

I recommend an nVidia 460 1 GB or a Radeon 5850.