Will This Fan Fit? Thoughts of Overclocking!

NorthernBurbs

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2011
Hi,
Im planning on Building a computer For Gaming and i've never built a computer before. Im only 15 and hopefully by Christmas/November i can get to build it. I would hate to Order all my Parts and have something not compatible.
Im Planning to build an Amd based computer using the Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990X Mobo
With a Amd Phenom x4 970 3.5Ghz Cpu
Will a Zalman Cnps9700 Fit? Im confused on how to put it on because it comes with 2 Mounting brackets and im guessing one if for the Back of the Mobo? but on the Back of the Mobo is this Black Plate? How would i install it if it is compatible, take that piece off or just mount the top part of the Cooler.

If you want to know any other parts of the Build i plan on making just ask and thanks to Anyone who tries to help me.

Links:
Mobo- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128510
Cpu- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103894
HSF- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835118019

Solution
Honesty, unless you are planning on doing a bunch of gaming / overclocking your CPU, the stock cooler that come with it will probably work fine.

That being said, as you go thru the documentation for buying the cooler, you should look for the specifics for your intended AMD / Intel cpu.

MOST newer cpu fans have the brackets for both (and a couple variations for each i.e. LGA 775,1155,1156,1366). Even if the correct bracket is not in the box, there is an available modification one for sale for almost ALL of the more popular coolers.

Zalman - being huge in coolers - will almost undoubtedly have everything you need so long as the cooler included a listing for your cpu (and likely parts for about every other type cpu available).

BE...

wayneepalmer

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2009