Sign in with
Your question

New Edit Machine

Last response: in Systems
October 4, 2010 6:54:20 PM

I am currently looking to purchase a new edit system. THe last system was customized through dell. I have been using adobe for years and would like to upgrade my computer. I edit a lot of documentaries that are shot in both Mini DV and some HD. Please let me know where I can find a nice system with a fast processor and plenty of space. Not sure where to start....but my budget is ranging from $1,700 to $2,100 max. PLEASE HELP! Should I be trying to purchase one already configured or trying to get someone to build me one custom. If so then what are the specs. I am an editor not a techie....advice welcomed!

More about : edit machine

October 4, 2010 7:14:27 PM

Unless you are going to be your own tech support, I would suggest you look at the Dell Precision series or the HP Z-series workstations. Both companies offer machines that will fit your needs nicely. If you build a system (or have one built), you are pretty much on your own. Not a criticism, but since you aren't a "techie", it is something to consider.

If you go the Dell route (I am sure HP does as well), look at their outlet.dell.com site. There you can really stretch your money and get a solid system with a full warranty for even less!

Good luck!
m
l
Related resources
October 4, 2010 7:48:52 PM

What application are you using to edit video with? Also, what other apps are you using?

What are the specs of the system you are using now, including storage?
m
l
October 7, 2010 2:28:35 PM