Mid to High End Gaming/everything PC

spectra20

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2010
First, Hello. I've lurked and used the resources here at TH for a long time. I finally had a reason to register and post. so here it goes.

I am going to put together a gaming PC. This is something I haven't done in many years.
Because it wasn't something I was doing, I lost track of new hardware, the price breaks, deals, etc...

I just missed out on a few of the deals used in the $2000 Gaming PC thread so I figured I'd start new.

Would anyone like to take a stab at a configuration for me?

time line: I'd like to purchase now. I have the budgeted amount burning a hole in my pocket.

Budget Range: I'd prefer to keep it under 2K before rebates but I'm open to a stellar deal if it requires a rebate. Heck, who am I kidding, cheaper is always good.

System Usage: Dual Purpose. Final Fantasy XIV is the reason I am doing this and then for Work. (I am a Sys Admin and do a lot of after hours work that I currently perform from my laptop.) I have no plans for running sims or first person shooters.

Parts Not Required: Buying all new.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Seems like NewEgg is the way to go but open to suggestions.

Country of Origin: US. North County area of San Diego, CA. Micro Center is not out of the question, its about 1.5 hours from the house.

Parts Preferences: Intel. I am partial to the i7-950 price at Micro Center at this time. Open on everything else.

Overclocking: Maybe but not required.

SLI or Crossfire: Don't believe its necessary for my needs.

Monitor Resolution: Depends on Monitor selection. I will want 2 monitors and maybe 3 if it can be worked out. A Radeon 5870 was recommended but damnifIknow.

Additional Comments: I am not concerned with looks of the case. Prefer mid tower and would like it as quite as reasonable.

Solution
Pairing with a i7 950 I like the ASUS Sabretooth x58 motherboard.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131665