New processor slower than old one?

jen17881

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2010
Hey everyone. I just upgraded some parts to my 4yr old desktop system yesterday, namely the motherboard, CPU and RAM. My old PC had a Pentium 4 with 2g of RAM and an ATI Radeon X1300. I upgraded to a Pentium i3 550 with 4g of RAM on an Intel motherboard. I also had to buy a new DVD writer, since my old one wasn't SATA compatible. I haven't bought a new HD (I have a 500g with 2 partitions and an external HD right now) and a new video card yet, because I wanted to see how the onboard graphics would do first.

I'll say, so far I am disappointed and at a loss. I had to reinstall Windows Vista 32, and I haven't reinstalled any programs aside from a couple of drivers, and my system seems to run very slow. Slower than it used to, in fact. I am trying to figure out where I need to start to increase performance. I updated the graphics drivers. I haven't flashed the BIOS because I've never done that before, and I wasn't sure if it was necessary. What to do next?

- Reinstall Windows (I didn't format the partition last time, so it kept my old files as Windows.old)?
- Get Vista 64 bit and format HD partition and install that?
- Get Windows 7?
- Get a new hard drive?
- Get a new video card?
- Put in the old video card??

I'm just trying to figure out where to start. I was going to upgrade the HD and GPU eventually anyway, but I wasn't wanting to do it today if not absolutely necessary. I just don't really understand what is slowing my system down so much.

Thanks a lot for any input! Much appreciated.

davewolfgang

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2010