Sign in with
Your question

First Time Build - Advice appreciated.

Last response: in Systems
October 4, 2010 11:37:44 PM

Hi, I'm building a new PC for the first time, I've replaced parts and tinkered inside PCs before so I have some mild experience. I'd just like to ask for some advice and know if there are any glaringly obvious mistakes with my component selection.

This rig will be used mostly for gaming current and new releases, I'm currently playing at 1400x900 but will likely purchase a 1920x1080 in the not too distant future. I'm not decided on overclocking but it is a possibility so I wouldn't want to rule it out. I've picked a crossfire compatible mobo since I intend to beef it up with a second video card when it starts to get old. Finally the intended purchase time - the sooner the better, although I'm not against waiting if something really worth it is just around the corner.

The components I have picked thus far are listed below.
CPU: Intel i5 760

Mobo: Asus P7P55D-E Pro
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Memory: G.SKILL ECO Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBECO

Video Card: Asus 5850 DirectCU

Cooler: CM Hyper 212+

HDD: Western digital caviar black 1TB (Purchased).

PSU: Corsair HX750W (Purchased).

<insert generic sata dvd drive here>.

Case:
The case is where I am really unsure. I am tempted by the HAF X but I am also concerned that it may be overkill for a (in the future) 2 card system. Is it okay or would you recommend another case? I would definitely prefer a case with dust filters and the ability to run cables behind the mobo tray since airflow/cooling is important (the room the PC will be located in can get a bit toasty at times).

Also I'd like to say a massive thank you to everyone who has helped me directly, through response to this message, or indirectly, through all the forum trawling/lurking I've been doing. Thanks!
a b B Homebuilt system