HTPC for gaming I7-870

G

Hi all.

Im in the process of building a HTPC of sorts which should also be able to run new games smoothly.
I am relatively new to building pc's in general. so i need some advice on if these parts work good together. Also cheaper alternatives without significant loss of performance would be greatly appreciated.
dont know if i want to get into the overclocking game but if i wanted would there be any room for it in terms of power and cooling?

This is the setup.

Silverstone Sugo SG05B Mini-ITX
450W, 80 Plus, Mini-ITX

Gigabyte GA-H55N-USB3, H55, Socket-1156
2xDDR3, mini-ITX, GbLAN, VGA, HDMI, DVI, USB 3.0, PCI-Ex(2.0)x16

Intel Core™ i7 Quad Processor i7-870
2,93GHz, Socket LGA1156, 8MB, Boxed

Corsair H50 Hydro Series CPU cooler
Socket 775/1156/1366, AM2/AM2+/AM3, 1700 RPM, 120mm Blæser

Crucial DDR3 1333MHz 8GB KIT, CL9
Kit w/two matched DDR3 4GB, 240pin

Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB
7200RPM, SATA 3.0 Gbps, 3,5", 32MB Cache, 8.9ms

XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
PCI-Express 2.0, 2xDVI-I, HDMI, DisplayPort, 850MHz

Thx in advance.

best regards Mattias

cmcghee358

Distinguished
On a Mini ITX board you're going to most likely need a low profile card, which means it wont be powerful.

Whats your budget? And games you intend to play, as well as monitor resolution

cmcghee358

Distinguished
Also to be perfectly honest your specs are wildly out of control.

8 GB on any recreational PC is complete overkill. And the i7-870 isn't the optimum chip to use. Also the H50 water cooler is expensive for its performance.

Let's start from scratch and you can build off of our suggestions. Sound good?

G

This is the Gfx cards silverstone lists as being compatible with the case.

* ATI Radeon HD 5670 - 6.7"
* ATI Radeon HD 5750 - 8.15"
* ATI Radeon HD 4850/4830/5770 - 9"
* ATI Radeon HD 5850 - 9.5"(ST45SF PSU recommended)
* NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT - 9"
* NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT/GSO - 9"
* NVIDIA GeForce 8800GS/GT/GTS - 9"
* NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 - 9"