A system freezeup, no RAM failure, clocked system

tju2an

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2009
Hey guys :)

I've got a problem which occured the first time aobut a week ago, and since then I've been trying to solve it with the knowledge I already had, but it seems like there's not enough data up there, so I'm therefore asking for advices and tips concerning a hopefully easily solved problem.

To decrease amount of posts required and to increase amount of data given, I also link this thread about parts picked up for my current system

My system is OC'd through the Extreme-Tuner built into TurboV EVO included with my P7P55D-E Pro since I'm still an apprentice clocker. I got my i5 760 to about 3.9 GHz, and the RAM settings might have been slightly changed within the BIOS.

Worth to mention, during times whenever the graphics shown on the monitor arn't too advanced, a buzzy noise seem to appear inside the case, which I personally think is caused by the graphics card. Common moments when this buzz(compared roughly to tinnitus) would be while watching the desktop with no other windows up, while inside (and actually viewing) the world in MineCraft and even the famous (?) racing game TrackMania, but the noise never occurs during Counter-Strike, Half-Life Source engine games or similiar a bit more complex rendered programs. This noise has been since the day I installed it. It's a GTX460 Sparkle 1GB Pre-OC'd card.

Also, the freeze of the system mostly occur while starting with a little lighter games like MineCraft or TrackMania, but World of Warcraft, Team Fortress 2, Left 4 Dead 1&2 never cause them at all. Another odd input might be, that until now, no freeze has been caused after playing Counter Strike, which I am most into for today, for an hour or so and then closing it. However, the system could run for hours before freezing if not CS has been launched before. This might be just random, or maybe useful information.